Home

Faculty

Research Interests

Research Lab

Claire Acevedo
Assistant Professor
Office:1545 MEK
claire.acevedo@utah.edu
(801) 581-6623
Google Scholar Citations

  • Stress and fatigue fracture mechanics

  • Skeletal biomechanics

  • Bone quality and bone fragility

  • Collagen and mineral deformation

  • Synchrotron radiation micro-tomography

  • Synchrotron radiation x-ray scattering

acevedo_headeracevedo_lab_imageLocation: 1430 MEB
Phone: (801) 585-7506
Brittany Coats
Associate Professor
Office: 2157 MEK
brittany.coats@utah.edu
(801) 585-0586
Google Scholar Citations

  • Pediatric traumatic brain Injury

  • Ocular trauma

  • Biological material characterization

  • Biological computational modeling

  • Blast injury
U-title_red_header_mod3DOCT1Location: 1430 MEB
Phone: (801) 585-7506
Michael Czabaj
Assistant Professor
Office: 2571 MEK
m.czabaj@utah.edu
(801) 585-6226
Google Scholar Citations

  • Fracture and fatigue of composite Materials

  • Composite material durability and damage

  • Micromechanics

  • 3D imaging with x-ray computed tomography
Composites LabALS_APLocation: 2407 MEB
Phone: (801) 585-9194
Jacob Hochhalter
Assistant Professor
Office: 2558 MEK
jacob.hochhalter@utah.edu
(801) 581-7727
Google Scholar Citations

  • Structural Materials

  • Finite Element Analysis

  • Digital Image Correlation

  • Uncertainty Propagation

  • Fatigue & Fracture


Location: 1656 MEK
Phone: (801) 581-7727
Owen Kingstedt
Assistant Professor
Office: 2573 MEK
o.kingstedt@utah.edu
(801) 213-6975
Google Scholar Citations

  • Mechanics of materials in extreme environments

  • Multi-length and time scale experimentation

  • Interfacial effects on macroscopic properties

  • Dynamic fracture and failure of advanced materials
kingstedt_labkingsted_lab_data_pic2Location: Building 60, Room 140 and MEB 2410
Phone: (801) 213-6975
Ken Monson
Associate Professor
Office: 1155 MEK
ken.monson@utah.edu
(801) 585-5191
Google Scholar Citations

  • Traumatic brain injury

  • Blast injury

  • Vessel mechanics and mechanotransduction

  • Dynamics
Monson labmonson_axial_stretch_480x290Location: 4501 SMBB
Phone:(801) 585-5191
Pania Newell
Assistant Professor
Office: 2465 MEK
pania.newell@utah.edu
(801) 213-3635
Publications
Google Scholar Citations

  • Computational multiphysics analysis of coupled phenomena

  • Fracture analysis in multiphysics systems

  • Computational homogenization of heterogeneous materials

  • Constitutive modeling
newell labnewell_lab-480x290Location: TBD
Phone:(801) 213-3635
Rob Parker
Professor
Office: 1151 MEK
rob.parker@utah.edu
(801) 581-6485
Google Scholar Citations

  • Vibration, Dynamics, and Stability of High-speed

  • Gyroscopic Systems

  • Nonlinear Vibrations

  • Vibration of Cyclically

  • Symmetric Systems

  • Ocean Wave Energy Harvesting

Dynamics and Vibrations

Parker LabLocation: 2010 MEK
Ashley Spear
Assistant Professor
Office: 2151 MEK
ashley.spear@utah.edu
(801) 581-4753
Google Scholar Citations

  • 3D crack prediction

  • Concurrent multiscale modeling

  • Microscale characterization of metallic materials

  • High-energy x-ray diffraction microscopy (HEDM)
spear labAPS_science_highlight-480x290Location: 2121 MEK
Phone:(801) 581-4753
Pai Wang
Assistant Professor
Office: 2467 MEK
pai.wang@utah.edu
(801) 581-4150
Google Scholar Citations

  • Wave Mechanics

  • Architected materials

  • Phonic Crystals

  • Acoustic Metamaterials

  • Topological mechanics

  • Noise control and vibration reduction

  • Acoustic Diagnostics ann Therapeutics

Utah Waves & Architected Materials Lab

Wang LabLocation: 2240 MEB
Dan Adams
Emeritus Professor
Office: 2465 MEK
adams@mech.utah.edu
(801) 585-9807
Publication List

  • Mechanics of composites

  • Composite damage

  • Micromechanics
Composites LabAdams 2016 grantLocation: 2407 MEB
Phone: (801) 585-9194
Rebecca Brannon
Emeritus Associate Professor
rebecca.brannon@utah.edu
Google Scholar Citations

  • Computational models of plasticity

  • Damage and failure modeling

  • Poroelasticity and poroplasticity modeling
CSM labbrannon_stress_fieldLocation: 2012 MEK
Phone: (801) 585-6879
K. Larry Devries
Distinguished Emeritus Professor
kldevries@mech.utah.edu
Publication List

  • Failure of materials

  • Material selection and substitution

  • Polymer material characterization

  • Adhesive characterization
Fracture and Adhesives Lab
Location: 2151 MEB
Phone: (801) 581-7101