Faculty and Research Labs

Faculty

Research Interests

Research Lab

Dan Adams
Professor
Office: 2580 MEK
Email: adams@mech.utah.edu
Phone: (801) 585-9807
Publication List

  • Mechanics of Composites

  • Composite Damage

  • Micromechanics
Composites LabAdams 2016 grantLocation: 2407 MEB
Phone: (801) 585-9194
Rebecca Brannon
Associate Professor
Office: 2012 MEK
Email: rebecca.brannon@utah.edu
Phone: (801) 581-6623
Google Scholar Citations

  • Computational Models of Plasticity

  • Damage and Failure Modeling

  • Poroelasticity and Poroplasticity Modeling
CSM labbrannon_stress_fieldLocation: 2012 MEK
Phone: (801) 585-6879
Brittany Coats
Associate Professor
Office: 2157 MEK
Email: brittany.coats@utah.edu
Phone: (801) 585-0586
Google Scholar Citations

  • Pediatric Traumatic Brain Injury

  • Ocular Trauma

  • Biological Material Characterization

  • Biological Computational Modeling

  • Blast Injury
U-title_red_header_mod3DOCT1Location: 1430 MEB
Phone: (801) 585-7506
Michael Czabaj
Assistant Professor
Office: 2571 MEK
Email: m.czabaj@utah.edu
Phone: (801) 585-6226
Google Scholar Citations

  • Fracture and Fatigue of Composite Materials

  • Composite Material Durability and Damage

  • Micromechanics

  • 3D Imaging with X-ray Computed Tomography
Composites LabALS_APLocation: 2407 MEB
Phone: (801) 585-9194
K. Larry Devries
Distinguished Professor
Office: 1656 MEK
Email: kldevries@mech.utah.edu
Phone: (801) 581-7101
Publication List

  • Failure of Materials

  • Material Selection and Substitution

  • Polymer Material Characterization

  • Adhesive Characterization
Fracture and Adhesives Lab
Location: 2151 MEB
Phone: (801) 581-7101
Owen Kingstedt
Assistant Professor
Office: 2573 MEK
Email: o.kingstedt@utah.edu
Phone: (801) 213-6975
Google Scholar Citations

  • Mechanics of Materials in Extreme Environments

  • Multi-length and Time Scale Experimentation

  • Interfacial Effects on Macroscopic Properties

  • Dynamic Fracture and Failure of Advanced Materials
kingstedt_labkingsted_lab_data_pic2Location: Building 60, Room 140 and MEB 2410
Phone: (801) 213-6975
Ken Monson
Associate Professor
Office: 1155 MEK
Email: ken.monson@utah.edu
Phone: (801) 585-5191
Google Scholar Citations

  • Traumatic Brain Injury

  • Blast Injury

  • Vessel Mechanics and Mechanotransduction

  • Dynamics
Monson labmonson_axial_stretch_480x290Location: 4501 SMBB
Phone:(801) 585-5191
Pania Newell
Assistant Professor
Office: 2465 MEK
Email: pania.newell@utah.edu
Phone: (801) 213-3635
Publications

  • Computational multiphysics analysis of coupled phenomena

  • Fracture analysis in multiphysics systems

  • Computational homogenization of heterogeneous materials

  • Constitutive modeling
newell labnewell_lab-480x290Location: TBD
Phone:(801) 213-3635
Ashley Spear
Assistant Professor
Office: 2151 MEK
Email: ashley.spear@utah.edu
Phone: (801) 581-4753
Google Scholar Citations

  • 3D Crack Prediction

  • Concurrent Multiscale Modeling

  • Microscale Characterization of Metallic Materials

  • High-Energy X-ray Diffraction Microscopy (HEDM)
spear labAPS_science_highlight-480x290Location: 2121 MEK
Phone:(801) 581-4753